Personally, I felt the Cluetrain Manifesto and its 95 theses had a hostile undertone. I agreed with the point being made– that consumers are human beings and should be treated and addressed as such– but I thought the 95 different theses to be repetitive and at times snappy. What was dragged out in 95 points could have been presented in at least half that. I believe corporations have been doing a better job at being more consumer oriented than the site gave them credit for, but then when I read the theses concerning Y2K I realized the information was outdated. The information was copyrighted to 1999 and I give the authors credit for foreseeing the changes I have noticed companies making over the past decade in the way they handle customers. Even though the site was written in 1999, the main goals still apply as corporations can always improve how they handle and view their customers.Facebook Logo

Chapter Two, Web 2.0, of “Journalism 2.0: How to Survive and Thrive” presented information about media corporations in a more factual and less opinionated way than the Cluetrain Manifesto. I thought it was straight forward and was easy to read. Specific cited examples helped get points across. The main topic of the chapter was the concept of “Web 2.0” which is a form of the internet where the viewers contribute to the content of the site (for example Facebook or YouTube).YouTube Logo

These two readings relate to each other because they both concern the evolution of the web and how corporations need to adapt (in the case of the first reading from 1999) and have adapted (in the case of the second reading from the mid 2000’s) in order to hold the interest of their consumers.

I feel the implication for news is that the line between the role of the consumer and producer of information are beginning to blur. As both a consumer and producer of information, this makes it especially important to differentiate myself as someone with journalism skills and utilize my knowledge and training in all aspects of media, because now any consumer has access to many of the same methods of information producing that I do.